Asylum/RhinoJackson Browne‘s classic 1977 album Running on Empty will be reissued July 5 on CD as an 180-gram vinyl LP, as well as digitally and via streaming services. Browne oversaw the remastering of the reissue. 

To create this concept album about life as a touring musician, Jackson recorded the project’s 10 tracks live on the road during August and September of ’77. The tracks were laid down onstage, in hotel rooms, in a backstage rehearsal space and on Browne’s tour bus.

Running on Empty peaked at #3 on the Billboard 200, and featured two hits: the title track and “Stay/The Load-Out,” which peaked, respectively, at #11 and #20 on the Billboard Hot 100. Among the other enduring tunes on the record is “You Love the Thunder.”

Running on Empty is Jackson’s best-selling album, having sold more than seven million copies in the U.S. In addition, it was named Album of the Year at the 1979 Grammy Awards, while the title track nabbed the Pop Male Vocal Performance honor.

Jackson was accompanied on the album by his touring band, which was packed with acclaimed session musicians: guitarist Danny Kortchmar; fiddle player and lap steel guitarist David Lindley; keyboardist Craig Doerge; bassist Leland Sklar; and drummer Russ Kunkel. The group also featured backing vocalists Doug Haywood and Rosemary Butler.

Meanwhile, Jackson will launch a U.S. summer tour later this month with a four-show engagement at New York’s Beacon Theatre on June 23, 24, 26 and 28. Check out his full itinerary at

Here’s the full track list of Running on Empty:

“Running On Empty”
“The Road”
“You Love the Thunder”
“Shaky Town”
“Love Needs a Heart”
“Nothing but Time”
“The Load-Out”

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.