Dashuna Robinson is the new president of the Benton Harbor Area Schools Board of Education. The body held its first meeting of the year on Tuesday of this past week, selecting its officers for 2021. Robinson started serving on the board in February of last year and now replaces former Trustee Joseph Taylor as the leader of the body. The vote for Robinson was unanimous.

A mostly new school board was also sworn in. The four new trustees are Rodger Tripplett, Angel Crayton, Trenton Bowens, and Stephanie Rockette-Martin. Returning are Robinson, Matthew Bradley, and Lue Buchana. Bradley was appointed board vice president Tuesday night, while Triplett was voted secretary and Crayton was voted treasurer.

Also at the meeting, the board voted to return to a two meeting-per-month schedule. That means it will hold a work session the first Tuesday of each month to discuss its business and then a regular meeting the second Tuesday of the month to vote. Meetings will continue to be held at 5:30 p.m.